Navigate to:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Synaptics\SynTP\Install
Note this is LOCAL MACHINE, not CURRENT USER.
Look for a key in that Install folder called DeleteUserSettingsOnUpgrade
Double click and change the value to 0.
Now go back to the Synaptics control panel, set everything how you like, and reboot.
Trovato qui.
Testato su Windows 10.